WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > General Discussion > The Library

The Library Reviews and opinions on published writing: prose and poetry.

Born Writers

Old 03-13-2008, 03:52 AM
starrwriter (Offline)
Verbosity Pales
Official Member

Thanks 4
Default Born Writers

I hate natural-born writers like Isak Dinesen. If I was a music composer, I could sympathize with how Salieri felt about Mozart.

I had to work so hard for so long to develop my writing skills (such as they are) that I turn green with envy when I read about Dinesen.

From an early age, she could make up a fascinating story on the spot if someone gave her the first line.

Who can do that? Certainly not me. For one thing, my speaking vocabulary lags far behind my writing vocabulary. And I have to think for a long time before I can weave my words into an interesting story.

I have a healthy imagination, but fiction writing is more than imagination. It's imagination shaped by the mysterious power of storytelling.

Dinesen had it in spades. So much so that when the normally boastful Ernest Hemingway won the 1954 Nobel Prize in Literature, he said he thought she deserved it more than himself. He called her "that beautiful Danish writer."

Dinesen was nominated again in 1957, losing to Albert Camus. She was always the bridesmaid rather than the bride when it came to the Nobel Committee.

Dinesen, whose real name was Baroness Karen von Blixen-Finecke, was born to a wealthy Copenhagen family in 1885. After she married the baron, they moved to Kenya, Africa, and started a coffee farm.

Her experiences in Kenya were the basis of her most famous book, Out of Africa. She had written gothic novels and short stories before she turned to autobiographical writing -- a curious development that paralleled the writing career of another excellent woman writer, Marjorie Rawlings.