WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Fiction

Fiction Novel excerpts, short stories, etc.

Prologue/Chapter One: Slaughter House of Justice (All feedback welcomed)

Old 10-22-2013, 01:50 PM
ritajordan82 (Offline)
Let me introduce myself
New Author

Thanks 0
Default Prologue/Chapter One: Slaughter House of Justice (All feedback welcomed)

PLEASE READ THE FIRST COUPLE OF PARAGRAPHS IN CHAPTER ONE

PROLOGUE

I've been a best-selling author for many years; displaying the lives of the most vicious killers on paper. Most of my stories were of notorious men and the gruesome crimes they’d committed throughout their lives. I’d sit face-to-face with them; staring directly into their eyes; getting the straight facts. People loved me for it.

“Robin Nicollette, how do you manage to get through those terrifying interviews?” they’d ask me.

I’d expose my most confident smile and reply, “I embrace the rush that comes along with talking directly to a murderer; smelling their wicked scents; feeling the same presence they feel. A surge of adrenaline would pump through my veins, knowing that I could easily be ripped into pieces at those exact moments. However, fear never consumes me. Instead the interviews empower me; cursing me with a thirst for another rush.”

But this time was different, and not because I was preparing to interview a woman. I’ve interviewed several women who had killed once or twice in their lifetimes. However, never before had I interviewed a young, female serial killer. It wasn’t fear that I possessed, but instead a craving to learn more about this feminine beauty who had chosen a life known mostly to men.

“My life might’ve been different if I hadn’t murdered my mom.”