WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > General Discussion > Writers' Cafe

Writers' Cafe Get a drink, sit down to relax, and chit-chat with other writers.

Advice about international universities?

Old 11-05-2010, 12:53 AM
ChicGeek (Offline)
Pencil pusher
Official Member

Icon5 Advice about international universities?

Hi everyone,

I've got a really confusing situation that I'd like some advice on, so anyone that has ANY comments is welcome to contribute as much as they can.

I'm currently studying at a university in Australia, doing a double major in creative and professional writing. I chose the uni because it was very well recognised and considered to be a great choice. unfortunantly, i hate it.
the course is.... :O I don't even know the word, so that says a lot.

There is however an Art uni that offers a much more flexible and fun environment, but is ranked extremely low academically.

I've been offered an opportunity to go to France, and apply for a position at a university there. But, my French is poor and that would be extremely difficult.

So my options are (feel free to tell me which ones suck and to suggest alternatives)

1. Stay with the university I'm with now. Complete my course then decide what to do.

2. Go to France and hope that I will learn the language fast enough.

3. Apply to this other university, take up some units in french, then apply to the French university.

and to top all that off, my boyfriend of 4 years is moving to France next year. He's asked me to come with him, and I want to but as far as university goes, I'm not sure if I can.

Any advice?

Old 11-05-2010, 02:51 AM
Kasubi

Take boyfriend out of the equation. If you've lasted four years you'll last a couple more until you've finished your education. Nothing worse than following someone half way across the globe, breaking up and resenting them for not allowing you to explore the limits of what you could be.

Hey, you did say any comments