WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Non-Fiction

Non-Fiction Journals, biographies, memoirs, etc.

All About Beer

Old 02-13-2007, 08:41 AM
starrwriter (Offline)
Verbosity Pales
Official Member

Thanks 4
Default All About Beer

Minors, most females and a small percentage of males can skip this non-fiction piece.

It's all about beer and it would probably bore non-drinkers.

I'm an expert in the art and science of making beer. I've been a homebrewer off and on since I was 18 and I can say with complete modesty that I could work as a competent brewmaster at any beer company in the U.S.

The oldest alcoholic beverage behind honey wine, beer dates back to the earliest beginnings of civilization. It was invented in Mesopotamia 8,000 years ago when humans gave up a nomadic hunting and gathering lifestyle, built the first cities and started cultivating grains instead of harvesting wild grass seeds. The ability to grow and store grain as a long-lasting staple food was a crucial factor in the gradual shift to much larger populations and the development of armies to expand kingdoms.

Converting grain into beer was one way of "storing" the excess of abundant harvests -- and making a kingdom's inhabitants happy and loyal. Cheecha, a type of beer made from corn, was used to pay the workers who built the road network in the Inca Empire.

Malted or partially sprouted barley is the main ingredient of what we now call beer. (In my thinking barley is nature's way of saying beer.) Real beer is made only with two-row barley malt, hops, water and yeast. American beer uses inferior four-row barley and substitutes adjuncts for part of the malt -- rice, corn and sugar. Those differences account for its mediocre quality compared to European beers.