WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Writing Craft > Writing Help & Issues

Writing Help & Issues You name it, we solve it! Ask your questions here.

How to write realist fiction?

Old 03-05-2016, 11:02 PM
Zeroni (Offline)
Scribbler
Official Member

Default How to write realist fiction?

I've never written fiction before, but I have a passion for nonfiction and researching, sometimes I go overboard researching because I enjoy it so much, at the moment I'm on sexual assault, domestic violence and childhood trauma.

I'd like to write a novel on Aileen Wuornos's younger years, of surviving her brutal childhood, she lived such a traumatised life, her coping mechanism was to face the world head on.
“I think this anger developed inside her. And she was working as a prostitute. I think she had a lot of awful encounters on the roads. And I think this anger just spilled out from inside her. And finally exploded. Into incredible violence. That was her way of surviving. I think Aileen really believed that she had killed in self-defense. I think someone who’s deeply psychotic can’t really tell the difference between something that is life threatening and something that is a minor disagreement, that you could say something that she didn’t agree with. She would get into a screaming black temper about it. And I think that’s what had caused these things to happen. And at the same time, when she wasn’t in those extreme moods, there was an incredible humanity to her.” – Nick Broomfield
I've written about my own trauma and sex critical theory in My First Per-Zine, and I have a call out for feminist writings on the activist experience and how abuse and marginalisation might have inflected someones journey into anarchism/ liberation politics:

"
I’m on the lookout for radical folk who want to write personal stories that meander about general issues they’ve come up against surviving, growing, learning how to make change happen, for themselves and their adopted community.