WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Non-Fiction

Non-Fiction Journals, biographies, memoirs, etc.

California Dreaming

Old 05-03-2007, 04:50 AM
starrwriter (Offline)
Verbosity Pales
Official Member

Thanks 4
Default California Dreaming

I always loved California, but it never loved me back.

I lived in or near San Francisco three different times over the years and each time I was forced to leave in failure.

The first time wasn't my fault since I was only a young infant. In 1945 my old man took a job at Hunter's Point shipyard in San Francisco, helping to build warships for the Navy. Several months later World War II ended, my father was laid off and he couldn't find another job in the bay area. My family returned to its roots in the Midwest.

The second time was right after two friends and I graduated from high school in Michigan. We drove across country and our car died on the Oakland bay bridge. The only job I could find was working as a part-time doorman at the Geary Theater in San Francisco, but after 6 months, I was broke and I gave up to return to Michigan.

The third time I thought my bad luck with California was finally over. In 1969 I was assigned to Travis Air Force Base in Fairfield and I spent most of my off-duty time in the bay area digging the best music I had ever heard. I saw live performances by Van Morrison, Sopwith Camel, Stoneground and Jerry Garcia among others and I was in the audience the night Bill Graham closed Winterland (aka the Fillmore West) in San Francisco with a sensational rock concert. I also explored Marin County, fished in the Sierra Nevada mountains, gambled at Lake Tahoe and caught free hops on Air Force planes to southern California whenever I had a few days off from work.

But a 20-year-old Valley Girl broke my heart at Travis and I volunteered for duty in Hawaii to get away from her.