WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Writing Craft > Writing Help & Issues

Writing Help & Issues You name it, we solve it! Ask your questions here.

Where to Begin With Writing?

Old 06-24-2007, 03:03 PM
Daryl MacDonald (Offline)
Copyist
Official Member

Default Where to Begin With Writing?

Hey all.

I'm new to writing, and I'm wondering what the first step is. I've read lots of books and the most interesting topic for me is fantasy. I think this is because the potential for the imagination is unlimited, and you can do so much with that. That being said, I've begun writing a story called Bond of Darkness, I've posted 2 chapters on here already and plan on posting 3 more. It began as a doodling on my notepad one day as I was bored. It began with only one character and now I'm attempting to turn it into a novel. I'm very inexperienced and have never attempted fantasy writing. Most of what I'm used to writing is essays etc and small journalistic pieces which I never really thought were very good. So I ask for help and advice. Where do I begin? The chapters I've posted on here have received precious few thumbs up. I have been getting advice but it seems as though the advice tears apart most of my story. To take all the advice would be to write a completely new story. So I plan to begin again, by writing up a plan, if anyone has any advice for me on this, please let me know. Thanks in advance.

Daryl.

Old 06-24-2007, 05:19 PM
Crystalwizard (Offline)
Dedicated Writer
Official Member

Thanks 12

The first step is to start putting words on paper. The second step is to continue putting words on paper.

you can worry about things like editing, or making the story flow or fixing plot holes and everything else later. After you get the words on paper.

For me, I start describing something. Maybe the room I'm in, or what someone's doing.

Also, you said: