WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Fiction

Fiction Novel excerpts, short stories, etc.

High Noon

Old 01-28-2012, 07:25 PM
RoseTHuman (Offline)
Pencil pusher
Official Member

Thanks 3
Default High Noon

This is the first chapter of the novel I started (but didn't finish) for NaNoWriMo. High Noon is a desert adventure featuring two treasure hunters named Charlie and Ike. Because of the theme of self-discovery in the story, I wanted the setting to be very vaguely "desert" and the time period to be vaguely "modern". It is my first attempt at novel writing, and any critique is appreciated.

*Just a warning, there is some strong language involved.*

One - Desert. Dazzling light.

Ike had just about had it. I could tell by the way he stalked around, sighing heavily and kicking at the sandy desert floor, and by the way he said, “Charlie, I've just about had it.” I suppose now you'd like me to describe Ike as a sort of introduction to our situation, right? That, however, is a bit problematic. I mean, his hair has to be some color, and he has to have some kind of a recognizable face or certain way of speaking, but I have never, in the years that we've been acquainted, been able to give any kind of account of what one should expect if one were to meet Ike. Oh, right, and there's me, I guess. I'm Charlie. I was born and raised in the city and have never been anywhere else, which is fine by me because the desert has always been more exciting for me than the stuffy, fashionable countryside towns. I'm never really at ease unless I'm out in the desert or holed up in a library and that's about all I'll say, because talking about yourself is weird.