WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > General Discussion > Writers' Cafe

Writers' Cafe Get a drink, sit down to relax, and chit-chat with other writers.

The Future Of The Book Trailer

Old 01-13-2010, 06:22 AM
hardycapo (Offline)
Pencil pusher
Official Member

Thanks 0
Default The Future Of The Book Trailer

I am a video director and 3D animator and recently I was asked to make my first book trailers. So I thought I'd pass on my experiences of making those.

I have a lot of experience in making TV shows and producing corporate videos. But I'd never made a book trailer. When I was approached by a couple of small publishers, the first thing I did was take a look at what was already out there.

The first thing I noticed was how the majority of book trailers on the net mimicked TV adverts. They are rife with cliches and non-specific, dramatic generalities. That may be okay if you're Stephen King, who has an established audience simply wanting to know that his book is out. But, for anybody else, I think you need to be specific about your book.

These pseudo-TV adverts I believed were going wrong on another point. The net is not TV. If you sell too overtly you can annoy people. So you should look to entertain people in the process of selling them the book. For example, if you're promoting your novel, it might be a good plan to dramatize a scene rather than having a generic voice over saying, When a man meets a woman. In this way you can show what the novel is like.

Anyway, when it came to making the book trailers for my clients, I decided to put my views into practice.

The first book to promote was a book of quotations, 'Snappy Sayings'. For this, the client and I devised a series of five mini-sitcoms featuring the same two characters, each one lasting 30 seconds. A quotation from the book inspired each piece. It was a way of taking a feature of the book and building entertainment around it - http://callousproductions.com/home/snappysayings1.html