WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Writing Craft > Writing Help & Issues > Character Clinics

Character Clinics Come and discover new things about your characters

Shanna Dexter

Old 12-18-2012, 10:09 AM
Webgoji (Offline)
The Next Bard
Official Member

Thanks 67
Default Shanna Dexter

I've been through so many of these things, I just can't remember what I've told to who. Anyway, I guess I'll start with childhood. Most people would say it was normal; Dad, Mom and a big brother Jerry that was always picking on me. I grew up in a small town in Washington, maybe you've heard of it? Seattle?

Anyway, when I turned 18 ... I mean the day I turned 18. I signed my contract and BAM!, I was a Mary Kay lady. The great thing was that my Mary Kay money put me through college. I majored in Business and it went so well I got a Masters as well. But really, the Mary Kay worked out, so I just kept going with it and recently got my fourth pink Cadillac.

I met Derek when I was thirty-one ... er ... twenty-nine. He was kind, a little sad and, quite frankly, a nice guy. Someone I would rather settle down with than just, well ... try to forget the next morning. So after a whirlwind romance of 2 years, hehe, we got married. Nothing like walking down the aisle for the first time when you're thirty ... uh ... twenty-nine.

We moved into my house and had been together for a year. We were even starting to consider having a child, but then Derek got into the car wreck. He said it was an animal of some kind, but he didn't really remember.

That's when things got ... weird. Derek was more ... the books like to say withdrawn, but really he just didn't talk quite as much. I was worried it was something with me, but he assured me it wasn't and he was fine. Then there was the basketball team at work. That's when it really dawned on me that something was wrong.