WritersBeat.com

Go Back   WritersBeat.com > Write Here > Non-Fiction

Non-Fiction Journals, biographies, memoirs, etc.

The Boy 'Genius' and the Southern Belle

Old 03-17-2007, 08:11 AM
starrwriter (Offline)
Verbosity Pales
Official Member

Thanks 4
Default The Boy 'Genius' and the Southern Belle

When I was 14, my family and I moved from a small town in Michigan to West Palm Beach, a tourist haven in South Florida. I loved the palm trees, white-sand beaches and tropical climate, but I was even more amazed by what happened to me in school.

I became popular overnight. In Michigan I was a B student, but Michigan schools were more advanced than Florida schools, so I was viewed as a genius at Palm Beach Junior High School.

I hadn't been popular at my Michigan school, partly because I didn't care about popularity but also due to the fact that I was a bit of a nerd. I was a chemistry nut and other kids my age weren't interested in chemistry. They were too busy forming snobbish cliques and trying to impress each other with fashionable clothes.

Pam Riberdy had been my first and only girlfriend in Michigan. She wasn't bad looking -- not beautiful, but above average -- and she was smart, which I liked. But I wasn't in love with Pam or even have a crush on her. She was just someone who didn't gag me to hang out with. We did stupid things like go bowling (geeky!) and we occasionally kissed (mushy!), but we never dreamed of going all the way. My having a girlfriend at age 12 came as quite a relief to my father, who had been terrified he was raising a mama's boy/homosexual.